2016

“Happy New Year, everyone! 2015 is going to be great, I can feel it :)”

At 12:06am, sitting on my couch with Chinese takeout and a glass of sparkling cider in hand, I had no idea how right my prediction would be. My goals were to make it through my science classes (one lab at a time), keep pushing towards vet school, get a job, and to ultimately survive. The same goals as a lot of bio majors, really. I certainly wasn’t thinking “New year, new me.” I was just trying to be myself.

2015 was an extremely transformative year for me. I changed my major and my career track, met some amazing people, and explored new places. Most of all, I spent a lot of time relearning what I love and what makes me happy. My GPA rose, my hair grew (and grows longer still!), and I had some “Holy crap is this adulthood?” moments that I’m sure I’ll laugh about later on. And I made it through 2015 with very few L’s. Overall, I’m pleased.

I can’t say that my motto for 2016 is “New year, new me.” I’m still me. But the changes I made in 2015 have helped me learn more about myself. I spent most of 2015 throwing myself blindly into new things and hoping that the decisions I made were the right ones. I think that I can go into 2016 with more confidence, wisdom, and enthusiasm, as well as less worry.

I think the way I brought in 2016 was a sign of the good times to come. Up until this year, I’ve spent every New Year’s Eve at home with my family. We brought in the new year quietly and with a lot of reflection and promises. Last night I watched the Peach drop downtown for the first time. I spent time with old friends and made some new ones, laughed all night, and fell asleep around 6am ready for more adventures. After a huge breakfast at The Original Pancake House (which I wrote about here) and a sufficient food coma, I feel rested and restored. I can’t wait to do it all again next time, except with a real champagne toast.

Here’s to a hell of a new year.

-Ash

Leave a Reply

