Double Clutched

I’m a huge supporter of retail therapy, especially online retail therapy. Holiday shopping in person is great and I love certain aspects of it: the crowds (to a point), the thrill of finding that last perfect shirt in my size and preferred color, the decorations, and especially trying on clothes before I leave the store and knowing that things fit well. But as nice as all of these things are, I am still the worst shopper. My feet ache from long lines, my arms hurt thanks to all the bags I end up with, mall food is more expensive and not that great, and as much as I love kids they get on my nerves after the tenth crying baby.

So when I was at home on Black Friday, snuggled under my covers and working on a long paper due that weekend, I happily partook in Black Friday shopping for the first time. Instead of flocking to the big brands, I did some digging and found some great Black-owned businesses to support. For every few pages that I completed on my paper, I bought something new. I was able to get a pair of shoes, a ton of makeup, and my mom’s Christmas present. And most importantly, I got this pretty little thing!

DSC_1766.JPG

This bag is from Double Clutched. I was looking for a statement piece, nothing too big but something that could hold all of my essentials.

DSC_1763.jpg

I absolutely love the designs and I’ll probably buy another one or two clutches from this collection. The brand also has wristlets, wallets, tote-sized bags, and more.

DSC_1768

may have overestimated the size of the clutch, but I still really like it and I know I’ll get my money’s worth from this bag.

DSC_1773.JPG

I plan to do the rest of my holiday shopping with other Black-owned businesses as the holidays progress and I take study breaks during finals. I’ve got my eye on some shea butter from BGLH (how can I possibly turn down whipped vanilla scented goodness?), for myself and as stocking stuffers.

DSC_1762

Do you have any suggestions for great products/stores for men? I’m looking for a gift for my dad. Let me know!

-Ash

Leave a Reply

