Brunch and Blue Skies

I was missing home last weekend, so I snuck back for a night. Mom was so happy to see me, even though I spent half of my time doing homework. We went out to dinner in matching shirts (she refused to let me take a picture but I will get her one day *evil laugh*) on Friday. I sat in her bed pretending to write a paper later that night while she watched some of our favorite shows: Scandal, HTGAWM, and Born Again Virgin. I’d never seen that last one before, but now I’m hooked. Also, the lead actress is pushing 50 and doesn’t look a day over 25. Melanin, ladies and gentlemen.

Sometime while I was sleeping, my dad came back from work, and we all had a giant brunch the next morning.

image

Pictured above: croissants, a veggie frittata, salmon with peppers, a giant fruit salad, baked sweet potatoes, and plantains. I wish I could say I helped with the prep, buuuuut not this time. This was all mom.

I tried to talk her into mimosas, to no avail. Pineapple and orange juice work pretty well together too, so I’m not complaining.

After a few hours of writers block, I went back to school and responsibilities. Work, rehearsals with my a cappella group, a 14-page labor of love paper, and enough reading to satisfy me for the next few weeks (but I get to do it again next week yaaaaay!).

And to top it off, it was raining. Almost all day, every single day, since last week. I thought it would never end. But today as I rushed to the shuttle for my 8:30 class, I saw the cotton candy colors and a big bright thing in the sky. The timing couldn’t be better; even though I have a Spanish exam tomorrow afternoon, rehearsal again tonight, and more work due before I can truly relax, at least the worst is over. I beat my Hell Week. And if this is the worst, then I’ll gladly take it.

-Ash

Leave a Reply

