What People Are Forgetting About Donald Trump (Odyssey)

The 2016 election will be the first time I’m allowed to vote, so naturally I want to make the best decision when I go to the polls. Therefore, I’ve been keeping up with the presidential candidates. I would be so far out of touch if I didn’t notice Donald Trump…*sigh*.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m getting a few chuckles out of his campaign. Not from his quotations and ideas specifically, but because I follow some hilarious people on Twitter and their commentary helps me smile, as opposed to getting bogged down and angry by his racist/sexist/elitist comments. And while it’s fine to laugh about the situation (because let’s be honest, the Republican Presidential debates seemed more like a circus with Donald Trump as the flamboyant, attention-craving ringleader), it’s important to keep one thing in mind.

Donald Trump might win.

This is not, I repeat, NOT, my way of supporting Donald Trump as President or even as the Republican candidate. I wouldn’t go so far as to say that I’d move to Canada if he won, but I’d be rather upset. At the same time, I’m not counting him out of the race. As much as I would LOVE to be comforted in the belief that he won’t get the nomination and that we’ll all be able to look back on this situation and laugh, I can’t. Because he might win. And when I think about his policies and ideas for this country, I cringe. I shudder. A refrain of “Dear God, no.” plays through my head.

If Donald Trump wins, he can change policies. He can implement new ones. Thousands, perhaps millions of people could lose benefits and rights that others have fought for over the past few decades. He could appoint officials that will stay around for the next few decades (I’m looking at you, Supreme Court judges), which would affect laws and decisions for who knows how long. He might build a wall between the U.S. and Mexico. He may declare a war just to mess with other countries. And he could do so many other things that will affect us for years.

As much as we all like to laugh at Donald Trump and his ridiculous antics, I’m terrified at the thought of people being impressed by his business success and charisma and seriously considering him as a candidate. Don’t get me wrong, he is a great businessman, and the kind of power he holds might be enough to sway a significant amount of people. Plus, I’m sure there are plenty of people who agree with some of his ideas but don’t want to say it out loud for fear of not being politically correct. I won’t know how many people are of that mindset until we get to the Republican primary, but I’m sure the number will surprise me.

As we approach Election Day, I urge you not to sleep on Donald Trump. But more importantly, get up to speed on all of candidates, regardless of their party. Be a part of history, and make your voice count.

Leave a Reply

