Ali’s Cookies

I know I said my next blog post would be about more stuff I did this summer, but this is important. But before I begin, I think it’s important that you understand how obsessed I am with cookies.

cookie gif

As a kid, one of the things I looked forward to the most was going to the grocery store to get baking supplies with my mom. Sometimes we got adventurous and baked entire cakes from scratch, but most of the time we kept things simple and picked up break-and-bake Toll House cookie dough. Chocolate chip always won out because I was a very picky eater and a child of habit. I can’t tell you the number of times I sat around in the kitchen after putting the dough in the oven, watching it rise and waiting for the sweet chocolatey smell to fill the room.

I learned early, and quickly, what to look for in the perfect cookie:

  1. An ideal chocolate to dough ratio (more chocolate is better, but there is a limit).
  2. A soft middle with firmer (but not too tough) edges.
  3. The chocolate can’t be too dark, otherwise it’s just bitter and sad.
  4. Bonus points if they are warm or served with milk.

I don’t think these are super high expectations, but I’ve been disappointed too many times. I’ve had “chocolate chip” cookies that had MAYBE one or two pieces of chocolate altogether, I’ve had cookies that can’t stay together and crumble when touched, and I’ve had cookies that could probably double as hockey pucks.

Anyway, I say all of this to say that when someone announced in May that a new cookie shop (restaurant? bakery? Wonderland?) would be opened at Emory Village (basically on my campus), I got very very excited. It was slated for ‘late summer’, so every day when I drove to work at Emory I would pass the shop and see….nothing. No cookies, no people, not even a sign on the front door. August came around and I thought, “Okay, surely they’re going to open soon. Thousands of college kids are finally back, and this would be the PERFECT time to open.” I’m not much of an entrepreneur or businesswoman, but this seemed like sound logic at the time.

August went by….nothing. September went by…..and a sign was finally put up on the front door, but still no cookies! I was starting to lose hope, until FINALLY last night I stumbled upon this article in the Emory Wheel, one of my school’s newspapers. My last class today got out at 2:15 and was a convenient 5 minute walk to Ali’s. I had no choice. I had to go.

I’m not going to bore you with my impressions of the store, decor, people, or any of that other stuff. Long story short, it was cute and pleasant and I will certainly be back for the experience alone. They have tons of flavors, including red velvet, pumpkin spice, and other favorites like double chocolate and oatmeal raisin. I ordered two chocolate chunk cookies and a slice of the cookie cake and raced out, excited to find a table in the sunshine and enjoy my snack.

Unfortunately, the clouds had other ideas and I had to race inside. Still, it didn’t damper my spirits.

10710801_10201764933005641_3199479620927213007_n

My first cookie!

10606482_10201764933845662_6902456476142833250_n

Bigger than my palm, which is always a good sign.

First bite….

10590523_10201764931725609_4268169637833919186_n

10665092_10201764930885588_4344142793619186615_n

You guys……it was life-changing.

I don’t know if it’s because I got chocolate chunk instead of chocolate chip, but the chocolate ratio in this cookie was perfect from the first bite to the last. The chocolate was definitely darker, but not too dark to mask the flavor and I was really able to savor it. The cookie as a whole was soft, but didn’t fall apart. The edges were firm but chewy and just…..mmmmm…..

Sorry, forgot where I was for a second.

I’m almost embarrassed at how fast I ate those cookies, but it was almost worth it. My rating? 10/10. All the stars. Every last one. If you go to Emory or if you’re ever around Emory Village or Ali’s two other locations in East Cobb and Perimeter (here’s the website), I highly recommend it.

And don’t forget to balance out all that sugar with lots of water!

DSC_0461

-Ash

10613133_10201765030488078_4665706026397839324_n

(P.S.: if you like my shirt, you can get it here! It’s from a great company, and they come in every size including kids. They also come in tank top form!)

Leave a Reply

