Spring Cleaning

Let me explain.

I know I’ve been away for a very very long time. I think this is the longest I’ve EVER gone without blogging. And it’s been terrible. I’ve missed it so much! There’s just been so much going on with school that I’ve barely had time to breathe, let alone blog. But I haven’t forgotten about it at all!

Last year I did a New Year’s post with all of these resolutions for 2014, and I thought I’d start this blog post by updating you on my progress.

Here we go!

  1. Run. Or, in other words, get fit.

This one started out pretty well. At the beginning of the semester I found the time to run in the gym before my late morning classes (the earliest was 11:30). But soon my schedule changed and it was harder for me to find time to go to the gym and still balance classes, my job, and choir rehearsals. Weekends were my primary workout time for a while.

Then one day I happened to go to a general body meeting for the Caribbean student association and found out that they were looking for members for the Caribbean Dance team. I thought it was a long shot, but after going to a few practices I was on the team! I love dancing and I had my first performance not too long ago.

Image

It’s been a great way for me to come out of my shell and connect with my culture. I can’t say exactly how much, but I know it’s done wonders for my endurance and I’ve seen some new muscle tone lately. All in all, I couldn’t be happier about joining the team!

2. Treat my body right.

I haven’t lost my love for food, especially junk food. But I’m getting better at this moderation thing! It’s gotten to the point where my friends make fun of me for eating 1-2 salads a day. They’re also still coming to terms with the fact that I don’t eat dressing, but that’s another story. I’ve learned to indulge without getting carried away, which used to be my biggest problem. Now whenever I eat a cupcake my body freaks out, but I’m okay with that. And I’ve also given up soda almost completely! I’ve lost all of my cravings and I can truly say that my body is healthy and happy 🙂

3. Love my hair.

This was an easy one. I knew I’d have to be patient and let my hair grow before I could start experimenting with fun styles, so I did. I followed the LOC styling method (liquid, oil, cream), deep conditioned every week, and constantly gave myself scalp massages to increase blood flow and encourage growth. I’ve never measured my hair length because, well, I just didn’t feel the need to. But today marks my six month anniversary since my big chop and I can easily say my hair has grown a good two, almost three inches. And that’s just visible growth; I have no idea how long it is stretched out. But I’m trying new styles now and seeing good results, so it’ll only get better from here!

4. Sing!

Choir is obviously still a big part of my life, and I still love it. But I’ve gone out of my way to perform solo a few times this semester. I did a Black History Month Cafe in February, and another performance two weeks ago for my university’s homecoming week. I’m enjoying it, and I look forward to building a name for myself.

Image

5. Travel

This one is a little bit difficult…but I’m still working on it. I’ll (hopefully) have a job this summer, but I still want to make time to explore Georgia with my friends. And I’m going to Jamaica this summer (woo!) and might go somewhere with my family for the holidays, so it’ll be a fun year in travel for me 🙂

6. Embrace my inner shutterbug.

I’m definitely less camera shy than I was last year.

Image

Image

Image

And there’s still more to come! I’ll keep you posted 🙂

7. Escape my comfort zone.

College has given me so many opportunities to expand my comfort zone (that’s how I see it): from dancing to engaging in meaningful discussions with my peers, and just meeting incredible people on a whim.

I think I’ve done pretty well on my resolutions so far 🙂

So yeah, life has been pretty good so far. School’s great, and I feel like I’m getting happier every day. Here are some random snapshots.

Image

ImageImage

Image

Oh, that’s TJ by the way. He’s awesome and hopefully you’ll see him around as I post more 🙂

ahhh

It feels good to be back 🙂

-Ash

Leave a Reply

