The New Year

I told myself I was gonna save this post for New Year’s Day.

I tried, I really did….but I’m just too excited!! So please forgive my being early.

Usually I make a list of about 10 resolutions every year that I keep up with fairly well…for about a month. For example, last year at New Year’s Eve I vowed that I would do something exciting this year, like watch the Peach drop or go to a party or out dancing with friends. And here I am, with 24 hours left to figure something out…and I’ve got nothing.

But enough of that.

I’ve been thinking about all the things I already have to look forward to in 2014, and this time I’ve created some dares for myself. Some things that I never thought I could accomplish this year but I know are in my sights for next year. Usually I never turn down dares, so hopefully this will work out.

  1. Run.
    Not every once in a while, not just when I feel like it. I’m going to run regardless of the weather, regardless of how stressed I feel, and regardless of if I feel like doing it. I won’t start out like a champ, but I’ll pace myself and take the steps to get there.
    Image
  2. Treat my body right.
    All my friends know about my love of food, especially cupcakes. But I realized that I have to be good to my body from the inside out. I’ll still treat myself every now and then, but I’ve got to get better at this whole ‘moderation’ thing everyone talks about. So I’ll swap cupcakes and cookies for yogurt and healthy smoothies, and see how that goes.
    Image
  3. Love my hair.
    A year ago I never thought I’d cut almost all of my hair….buuuut here I am. And I’m loving it so far! But as my hair grows I know I’ll face challenges like tangling and not knowing how to style it. But this year I’m going to love my hair, through good times and bad, in sickness and in health…well, you get the idea.
    ImageImage
  4. Sing!
    I know, I know, obvious right? Choir is taking care of that for now, but my mom was just telling me today how she hasn’t heard me sing in a long time. I’m not the type to sing in showers, while doing dishes, or anything like that. So I’m gonna sing more, a lot more.
    Image
  5. Travel.
    I’ve been bitten by the wanderlust bug. I have some plans to travel next summer and maybe around the winter holidays, but I’ve realized that I don’t have to cross oceans or state boundaries to explore new places. Here’s to a year of exploring!
    Image
  6. Embrace my inner shutterbug.
    Now that I have an amazing camera, I think it’s time for me to stop being so camera-shy. I love taking pictures, but having pictures taken of me? Not so much. But this year I’m gonna get over that.
    Image
    Image
    (Ayy, throwback!)
  7. Escape my comfort zone.
    I’ve done that in 2013 and I’m so thankful for it! I’ve met amazing people and had experiences that I’ll never forget. But I could always do more.
    Image

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. I wish everyone a happy new year, and I hope you make good on all of the resolutions you make.

Xoxo,
Ash

Leave a Reply

