The Chop!

Today was the big day!!

Image

I made the decision last month to cut off all my relaxed hair and I finally made it home this weekend to get my hair done.

I brought my best friend Tatyana, a veteran of the big chop, to the salon with me as moral support, as well as my mom. These are some of the before pictures…
ImageImageImage

And the after!
ImageImage

I know, probably the most attractive face I’ve ever made. But I think I redeemed myself later today when Taty and I went to the playground to play with her camera.
ImageImageImageImageImage

Personally I think she belongs on Pinterest…ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

After our little photo shoot we went back to my place and made some awesome smoothies!

Image

If you’re interested, here’s the recipe!

To make enough for two you’ll need:

4 large strawberries, quartered

A couple of pineapple cubes (I used about 4 or 5)

One kiwi, sliced

A handful of ice

Optional: vanilla protein powder, about one tbsp.

To make, just throw everything into a blender and blend away!

The protein powder adds a little sweetness and takes away a bit of the sour taste.

It’s my go-to smoothie recipe and I never get tired of it!

Image

Right now we’re watching The Diary of a Mad Black Woman, full and happy.

I can’t begin to express how much I love my hair. I knew I wouldn’t regret the decision to cut it, but I didn’t know I would fall in love with my texture again so fast. It’s funny how little it takes to give my hair curls and softness. This was a big step on my journey to natural hair, and even if it takes a long time I look forward to enjoying every moment of it.

-Ash

One comment

  1. Ndeshimona · October 13, 2013

    Beautiful!! Congrats on your Big Chop! Enjoy your TWA, it’s the simplest your hair will be for a long time 😉

Leave a Reply

