To Chop or Not to Chop… My Hair-story

If you had asked me if I would ever cut my hair when I was, say, 16…I probably would’ve laughed in your face.

Okay, maybe that’s a little extreme.

But I would never ever ever EVER consider cutting my hair. And I definitely wouldn’t have considered going natural. To give you an idea of what I was working with…

389814_2501996662890_1573941882_n

338054_385201584881054_347455160_o

I was also no stranger to micro-braids and Senegalese twists…

200654_1460635456465_4778046_n

281330_1694853791777_170807_n

And for Graduation/Senior Banquet/my last week of high school I had some extensions put in, just for fun.

942341_582331755131741_1996179802_n

I relaxed my hair for the first time when I was 11 and was really content with how my hair looked throughout middle school. Honestly the braids were only for more versatility and convenience. But I never realized how much I was damaging my hair and how hard it would be to keep my hair healthy when I went off to boarding school, where I wouldn’t have my mom to help me.

So I started wearing braids more frequently, which would break off the sides of my hair. And when I went back to relaxers I always experienced breakage throughout my whole head. It got especially bad near the end of my senior year, to the point where my hair was basically a bunch of dry split ends on my head. But I knew that I would be getting it done at home for Graduation so I paid it no mind. I got my extensions in late May and wore them all the way through June (for the Choir tour I went on), and I think I washed them once somewhere in the middle.

When I finally took them out in July….oh it was terrible.  There was so much breakage as I took them out and after I washed my hair I had a pile of hair a bit bigger than a golf ball. I knew I needed to go natural with a better protective style that wouldn’t be as expensive as micro-braids, so I turned to my current obsession: Havana Twists.

DSC_0587 DSC_0542 DSC_0456 IMG_0911

I definitely had a lot of fun with these….but they were difficult. There was no rubber band in the world that could hold all that hair, so I could never really put it in a ponytail and the best I could do was to get half of it off my face. They were also extremely heavy and my neck hurt for the entire month that I had them in. As much as I loved my dad calling me his Rasta girl, I was more than happy to take them out.

So, back to square one I went. I decided to fully transition with the ever-popular twist out.

Mine was pretty good with my mom’s help…

DSC_0639 DSC_0679

But now that I’m away from home again it’s hard to keep up.

Here’s the way it looks now:

Photo on 9-12-13 at 9.45 PM Photo on 9-12-13 at 9.46 PM

Could be worse, I guess. And I seriously need a trim, I know.

Speaking of trims…I might be getting one. A pretty big one. Actually the biggest one I could possibly get…the BIG CHOP.

I started to really consider it this summer. My mom has done it plenty of times, and because she’s such a fierce and confident woman she’s pulled it off beautifully every time. I would definitely let my roots grow in some more first (it’s about an inch thick right now and I’d like about 2-3 before I chop off the relaxed part).

I’ve been mentally preparing myself for the past three months and I honestly can’t wait. But a tiny part of me is holding back. It would be nice to transition without cutting my hair, but I don’t know how possible that is for me. And it would be so nice to just start over…

What do you think?

-Ash

2 comments

  1. Ndeshimona · September 13, 2013

    Those were my thoughts. Starting over. It was a shock at first but afterwards it was such a freedom. Being able to wake up and go with my TWA was the BEST gift out of everything! 🙂

  2. mjbtheone · September 15, 2013

    We would like to do a hair feature on you for trialsntresses.com please feel free to check the site out and if you are interested shoot us an email at admin@trialsntresses.com

Leave a Reply

