Father’s day!

I’m a daddy’s girl. There’s no doubt in my mind.

My dad is the kind of man who spoils his girls (me and my mom), but not to the point where we’re spoiled rotten. He’ll drop anything he’s doing for us, and he really is one of the most selfless, caring, and loving people I’ve ever met.

I wanted to do something special for this occasion, but it took me weeks to find something that he loves and that would involve me going out of my way to show my appreciation. Then it hit me.

Dad loves bike riding. I have a love-mostly hate relationship with exercise.

So today I woke up early (8am, but to a teenager on summer vacation this is a huge task), threw on some shorts, and scarfed down a banana. While dad put the bike rack on the car I decided to play with my new toy.

DSC_0005

A Nikon 1 J1 with a mirrorless lens. I’m already in love with it.

Image(Mom couldn’t resist getting a shot of me)

ImageImageImageOnce the bikes were loaded we hit the road! I drove, Dad sang along to reggae meanwhile.

We parked next to the Silver Comet Trail, a beautiful 62-mile stretch of asphalt that’s perfect for biking, walking (with or without a furry companion), roller blading, and the like. Dad and I used to hit the trail all the time before I went to boarding school, and I’ve always loved it. If you imagine hard enough in some places, it’s like being a fairy in an enchanted forest.

We stopped after about a mile for a quick water and I managed to get a few shots.
ImageImageWe did about two more miles before the heat got the best of me and I had to sit down for a while. Dad didn’t mind though, and he went through his phone replying to all the well-wishes he received while I took more photos.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageFeeling well-rested, we turned around and headed back to where we parked, stopping at the same rest stop.

I insisted on a photo shoot.
ImageImageDad’s not much of a smiler, but I think he looks cool.

We finished the six-mile ride with empty water bottles and sore bottoms. Feeling proud, we decided we’d earned a treat. We decided to head to Krispy Kreme and pick up a dozen donuts.

Sadly, they disappeared into our stomachs before I could take any pictures. They were just too tempting.

We headed home after a quick trip to the supermarket and I helped mom create a feast.
ImageImageImageImageImageI’m full and happy and licking glaze from a donut off of my fingers. It was a successful day.

I’m leaving for Switzerland tomorrow for choir tour and I couldn’t be more excited. It’s my first time to Europe and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me.

I hope everyone had a great Father’s Day!

-Ash

Leave a Reply

